Ontario Basic Income Network


A network of basic income advocates in Ontario has been building since 2013 - the year that today's Canadian basic income movement began to take off. The first local action group to form was the Kingston Action Group for a Basic Income Guarantee. In 2015 the Kingston group organized the first annual meeting of Ontario advocates and that meeting was held in Kingston in November that year. The second annual meeting was held in November 2016 in Peterborough and was organized by the Peterborough Basic Income Network. At that meeting it was agreed that a provincial network group should be more formally established and, soon after, the Ontario Basic Income Network (OBIN) was named as such.

On November 4th, 2017 the 3rd annual organizing meeting of OBIN was held, this time in Lindsay (one of the three sites of the Ontario government's current 3-year basic income pilot project). The meeting was preceded the day before by a public event organized by OBIN, also held in Lindsay. One of the best developments arising from those two days was adoption of the Lindsay Declaration for a Progressive Basic Income.

The work of OBIN is guided by a Steering Committee which meets monthly by conference call. The current Steering Committee members are as follows:

- Roderick Benns (Vice Chair), Cambridge

- Jennifer Cooley, Ottawa

- Jon Ellis, Waterloo

- Tim Ellis (Secretary), Toronto

- Josephine Grey, Toronto

- Andrea Kauppinen, Waterloo

- Elizabeth McGuire, Hamilton

- Terrie Meehan, Ottawa

- Rob Rainer (Chair), Tay Valley Township

- Robert Rattle, Sault Ste. Marie

- Elizabeth Richer, Sudbury

- John Rondina, Toronto

For more information: Rob Rainer (rob@robrainer.com)