Board of Directors

Basic Income Canada Network is governed and led by a volunteer board of directors. Our board includes people with vast knowledge of basic income, poverty, homelessness and related subjects, and public policy making in Canada. Among the board are people who, as well, have the lived experience of poverty.

Current board members are (biographies):

  • Eleni Bakopanos, Montreal, QC
  • Dan Meades, St. John’s, NL
  • Alanna Makinson, Winnipeg, MB
  • Debbie McGraw, Saskatoon, SK
  • James Mulvale (Vice-Chair), Winnipeg, MB
  • Sheila Regehr (Chair), Toronto, ON
  • John Rook, Calgary, AB
  • Pierre Stevens (Treasurer), Halifax, NS
  • Jenna van Draanen (Secretary), Toronto, ON
  • Celina Symmonds, Medicine Hat, AB
  • Paul Vallée, Ottawa, ON
  • James Hughes, Montreal, QC

Ex-officio advisors to the Board

  • Kelly Ernst (Past Chair), Calgary, AB
  • Rob Rainer (former Board member), Ottawa, ON
  • Chandra Pasma (Policy), Ottawa, ON
  • Thomas Allgoewer (Fundraising), Ottawa, ON

Basic Income Canada Network also benefits from advice from prominent people who contribute to Canada in significant ways and who support basic income. Presently such advisors are (biographies):

  • Philip Berger, MD, physician, Toronto
  • Mark Chamberlain, business leader, Hamilton
  • Danielle Martin, MD, physician, Toronto
  • Dennis Raphael, PhD, public health expert, Toronto